The Ivors 2021: Full Winners List

The Ivors Academy has announced the winners at The Ivors with Apple Music 2021, recognising outstanding songwriting and screen composition.

Recognised as a pinnacle of creative musical achievement since they were first presented in 1956, the Ivor Novello Awards have a special place in the music community as they are judged and awarded by songwriters and composers to their peers.

This year, 70% of the 26 songwriters and composers recognised with an Ivor are picking up an award for the first time.

Adore You, performed and written by Harry Styles with Amy Allen, Tyler Johnson and Kid Harpoon won the PRS for Music Most Performed Work of 2020 - the first Ivor win for Styles and all the writers on the track.

Lianne La Havas’ self-titled album won the Ivor Novello Award for Best Album, written with Matthew Hales. This is also their first Ivor, having both been first nominated in 2013 for La Havas’ debut album, Is Your Love Big Enough?

Best Song Musically and Lyrically went to Obongjayar and Barney Lister in their first Ivor win for God’s Own Children from the EP Which Way Is Forward?, which Obongjayar describes as “a project about love, family, self-empowerment and self-belief”.

Children of the Internet by Dave and Fraser T Smith won Best Contemporary Song. In one of the most successful contemporary songwriting collaborations, it is their third Ivor Novello Award win in four years.

Speaking to Headliner at the ceremony about what the Ivors means to him, Smith commented: “An awards ceremony like this, that has so much history and credibility, that honours songwriters, and is not on TV, or about hype or about throwing money at something to make it a success, really resonates with me."

Smith also discusses his working processes during the pandemic and his work with rising star Mysie.

"I've been working with Mysie through the Apple mentorship programme," he said. "So we were talking and now we’re creating; we’ve made two EPs together. So, it’s been a really fertile time for me creatively. I moved out to the country which was a real blessing. The closer you are to nature, the closer you are to creativity."

Celeste and Jamie Hartman received the Ivor for Songwriter of the Year for their body of work in 2020 including Stop this Flame, I Can See the Change, Little Runaway, Love is Back and A Little Love for the John Lewis Christmas advert.

The second Rising Star Award with Apple Music was awarded to 20-year-old Bristol born artist Willow Kayne, whose work spans hip hop, punk and electronica, and draws creative inspiration from fashion and graphic design.

All Rising Star Award nominees receive a year-long mentorship from a well-known Academy member and leaders from Apple Music. Willow has been paired with Nile Rodgers.

“Willow has a fresh and exciting sound and the energy and determination to match it,” said Rodgers. “She’s a genuine star in the making and I can’t wait to support her on her musical journey.”

Composer Blanck Mass won his first Ivor for Best Original Film Score for the BAFTA nominated Irish crime drama Calm with Horses, directed by Nick Rowland in his feature debut and written by Joseph Murtagh.

Best Original Video Game Score went to Gareth Coker for Ori and the Will of the Wisps.

The soundtrack for sci-fi spectacular Devs composed by Geoff Barrow, Ben Salisbury, and The Insects won Best Television Soundtrack. 

Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora collected the Special International Award with Apple Music for a musical partnership that spanned 30 years and fuelled one of the biggest bands in the world, producing global anthems such as Wanted Dead or Alive, You Give Love a Bad Name and Livin’ On A Prayer.

Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith were honoured with the Ivor for Outstanding Song Collection for their songwriting partnership that produced era-defining Tears for Fears albums including The Hurting, Songs from the Big Chair and The Seeds of Love, as well as critically acclaimed, innovative hit singles: Mad World, Shout, Everybody Wants to Rule the World and Sowing the Seeds of Love.

Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory were recognised with The Ivors Inspiration Award for their work as the duo Goldfrapp, which formed in 1999.

Mark-Anthony Turnage was recognised with The Ivors Classical Music Award for his unique and experimental approach to composition.

Shaznay Lewis, Ivor Novello Award winner and Chair of The Ivors Awards Committee at The Ivors Academy, said: “I’m amazed by the impressive range of talent who have joined the UK’s roll call of songwriting greats by winning an Ivor Novello Award.

"Each one brings joy to so many and creates the soundtrack to our lives. As well as being astounded by their achievements, I would like to thank every winner and nominee for creating the most wonderful and era-defining music.”

I’m amazed by the impressive range of talent who have joined the UK’s roll call of songwriting greats by winning an Ivor Novello Award. Shaznay Lewis

The 2021 winners are:

Best Album

Lianne La Havas
Written by Matthew Hales and Lianne La Havas
Performed by Lianne La Havas
Published in the UK by Universal Music Publishing and Warner Chappell Music

Best Contemporary Song

Children of the Internet
Written by Dave and Fraser T Smith
Performed by Future Utopia feat. Dave and Es Devlin
Published in the UK by Warner Chappell Music and Kobalt Music Publishing

Best Original Film Score

Calm with Horses
Composed by Blanck Mass
Published in the UK by BMG UK

Best Original Video Game Score

Ori and the Will of the Wisps
Composed by Gareth Coker

Best Song Musically and Lyrically

God’s Own Children
Written by Barney Lister and Obongjayar
Performed by Obongjayar
Published in the UK by Promised Land Music-Universal Music Publishing and Beggars Music 

Best Television Soundtrack

Composed by Geoff Barrow, Ben Salisbury, The Insects 
Published in the UK by Sony Music Publishing 

Outstanding Song Collection 

Roland Orzabal and Curt Smith

PRS for Music Most Performed Work

Adore You
Written by Amy Allen, Tyler Johnson, Kid Harpoon and Harry Styles
Performed by Harry Styles
Published in the UK by Artist Publishing Group West-Kobalt Music Publishing, Concord Music Publishing, Universal Music Publishing 
Rising Star Award with Apple Music
Willow Kayne

Songwriter of the Year 

Celeste and Jamie Hartman

Special International Award with Apple Music

Jon Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora

The Ivors Classical Music Award

Mark-Anthony Turnage

The Ivors Inspiration Award 

Alison Goldfrapp and Will Gregory 

In their 66th year, the winners were announced today at an awards ceremony hosted by Paul Gambaccini at Grosvenor House, London.