Music News

Janine Irons and Gary Crosby Earn MPG Inspiration Award

The 2021 MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note, has been awarded to Janine Irons and Gary Crosby in recognition for their work establishing jazz music, education and artist development organisation, Tomorrow’s Warriors.

Gary Crosby OBE (co-founder and artistic director, Tomorrow’s Warriors) and Janine Irons MBE (co-founder and chief executive, Tomorrow’s Warriors) commented:

“We are so honoured and humbled to receive the Inspiration Award from the MPG Awards this year in this, our extra-special 30th anniversary year.

“Over the past three decades, we have been dedicated to developing and supporting diverse talent and championing musical excellence on their artistic journey into the music industry, so it means a lot to receive this incredible recognition from an organisation we so hugely respect and admire. Thank you MPG!”

Tomorrow’s Warriors work hard to achieve quality experiences and outcomes for young, emerging and professional artists, as well as for audiences whilst ensuring value for money for its funders, sponsors and donors.

Tomorrow’s Warriors is passionate about raising confident, highly skilled music professionals. Although the focus is on individuals who are most likely to face barriers to progression in the music industry – which, statistically and anecdotally, are most likely to be black talent and girls – the focus is also on a model that is accessible to all.

Diversity and inclusion are at the heart of all that Tomorrow’s Warriors does - they aim to inspire, foster and grow a vibrant community of artists, audiences and leaders who together will transform the lives of future generations by increasing opportunity, diversity and excellence in and through jazz.

The 13th MPG Awards featured a total of 13 award categories, each designed to recognise and celebrate the best and brightest talent in music production, along with the industry’s rising stars.

Full winners are to be announced in the coming months, and there is a winners event planned for September 2021.