Music News

Kid Harpoon leads MPG Award wins for Harry’s House: full 2023 winners list

The Music Producers Guild has announced the complete list of 2023 award winners. Now in its 15th year, the annual event was presented by broadcaster, Abbie McCarthy.

Kid Harpoon was the big winner, taking the top accolade of Producer Of The Year as well as Writer Producer of The Year and as producer on the Album Of The Year, along with Mark “Spike” Stent and Oli Jacobs for their work on Harry Styles’ Harry’s House. Jacobs also won Recording Engineer Of The Year.

Hannah Peel also took home multiple awards, winning Self-Producing Artist and, along with Michael Keeny and James Trevascus, Original Score Recording Of The Year for their work on The Midwich Cuckoos.

This year’s Rising Star was Francine Perry. A producer and engineer, she has worked with the likes of Erasure, Forsyth, Beth Orton and HAAi. Perry is also co-founder of Omnii Collective – a London based organisation for women, non-binary and trans sound enthusiasts.

Adam 'Cecil' Bartlett took home Breakthrough Producer Of The Year for his work on The Big Moon’s Here Is Everything album, which scored them their first top 10.

"It’s fantastic to see so many deserved winners!” said Eve Horne, MPG executive director.

“Every year we are blown away with the sheer talent that each of the nominees and winners display! It’s great to see such diversity again this year too. Testament that the MPG and the industry as a whole is going in the right direction.”

British rapper, songwriter and actor, Kano presented Fraser T Smith with Outstanding Contribution to UK Music. This award recognises his work with artists such as Adele, Stormzy, Dave, Kano, Kasabian, Sam Smith as well as his Future Utopia project.

They were also joined on the stage by PPL CEO, Peter Leathem, who announced details of the new ‘Fraser T Smith Future Producer Academy in association with PPL and the MPG’, which aims to offer a small number of individuals who otherwise wouldn’t be able to afford it, the opportunity of dedicating themselves to a full-time career in music production for 12 months / or an academic year.

Another notable recipient was producer, engineer and mixer, Bob Clearmountian who was awarded the brand new, gifted MPG Icon Award. He was presented his award by Giles Martin.

The remaining gifted award, The MPG Inspiration Award, was given to Ric Flow for his work at Mantra Music – a record label set up for care-leavers.

Full winners list:

Producer of the Year, sponsored by Flare Audio

Kid Harpoon

Writer-Producer of the Year, sponsored by Hipgnosis

Kid Harpoon

Breakthrough Producer of the Year

Adam 'Cecil' Bartlett

Self-Producing Artist

Hannah Peel

Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by AMS Neve

Oli Jacobs

Rising Star

Francine Perry

Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Avid

Craig Silvey

Mastering Engineer of the Year

Cicely Balston

Vocal Producer of the Year

Ramera Abraham

Unsung Hero, sponsored by Musicians Union

Carla Harding

Atmos Mix of the Year sponsored by Dolby

Maggie Rogers Want Want Atmos mix by: Dave Emery

Studio of the Year, sponsored by Neumann

RAK Studios

Original Score Recording of the Year sponsored by Blinding Talent

Hannah Peel, Michael Keeney & James Trevascus for The Midwich Cuckoos

Album of the Year, sponsored by Bowers & Wilkins

Harry’s House, Kid Harpoon, Oli Jacobs, Mark “Spike” Stent for Harry’s House

The MPG 2023 Awards categories in the gift of the MPG are:

The MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Audio Note

Ric Flow

PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, sponsored by PPL

Fraser T Smith

The MPG Icon Award, sponsored by Solid State Logic

Bob Clearmountian

The afterparty was sponsored by Bowers & Wilkins, with last year’s Self-Producing Artist winner, lau.ra providing the music.