Music News

MPG reveals 2024 awards shortlist: women make up 50%

The Music Producers Guild have revealed the shortlist for the 2024 MPG awards. This year, for the first time, women represent 50% of the short list.

Mike Hillier, Kirsty Whalley and David Wrench are all in the running to receive the Dolby Atmos Mixer Of The Year award. This award was introduced last year to reflect the ever-evolving industry and recognise Dolby Atmos as a new standard for generating creative, engaging and immersive audio.

The Producer of The Year category is hotly contested this year by 2020 winner Catherine Marks (boygenius, The Record), 2021 writer-producer nominee, Steph Marziano (Picture Parlour), Lostboy (Kylie Minogue) and Kwes (Loyle Carter).

Amy Sergeant, Izzy McPhee and Jess Camilleri are in the mix for the Rising Star award. This breakthrough engineering category includes early-career recording, mix and mastering engineers, in an effort to highlight more of the new talent rising up through the industry.

The MPG has announced that producer and engineer, Ken Scott is the winner of the MPG Special Recognition Award, sponsored by Abbey Road.

2024 celebrates Scott’s 60th year in the industry, having started work at Abbey Road Studios at the age of 16. He went on to work with The Beatles, Pink Floyd, Lou Reed, Elton John, George Harrison, Jeff Beck, Duran Duran and David Bowie. Despite this outstanding contribution to music, Ken has gone largely unrecognised. He has also dedicated his later years inspiring and educating the next generation.

“A huge congratulations to Ken Scott on receiving the well-deserved Special Recognition Award, commemorating his remarkable 60 years of invaluable contributions to the music industry,” said Sally Davies, managing director, Abbey Road.

“Since starting in our tape library at the age of 16, Ken has left an indelible mark on countless records, artists, music makers and fans worldwide through his unwavering passion for music production and engineering. Abbey Road Studios takes immense pride in supporting the MPG Awards and celebrating legends such as Ken Scott. We look forward to 25 April, where we'll honour Ken's extraordinary legacy alongside the industry's finest talents.”

MPG 2024 awards shortlist:

Producer of the Year sponsored by Flare Audio

Catherine Marks

Steph Marziano



Writer-Producer of the Year sponsored by Novation



David Stewart

Breakthrough Producer of the Year

Tayte Nickols

Elliot Vaughan

Eve Horne

Self-Producing Artist sponsored by Focusrite Scarlett

Fred again…

Hundred Reasons (Larry Hibbit)

Everything But The Girl (Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt)

Recording Engineer of the Year sponsored by AMS Neve

Fiona Cruickshank

Ramera Abraham

Kirsty Whalley

Rising Star sponsored by PACE Anti-Piracy, Inc

Amy Sergeant

Izzy McPhee

Jess Camilleri

Mix Engineer of the Year sponsored by Avid

Catherine Marks

Dan Grech-Marguerat

Marta Salogni

Manon Grandjean

Mastering Engineer of the Year

Katie Tavini

John Davis

Matt Colton

Vocal Producer of the Year

Lorna Blackwood

Cameron Gower Poole

MNEK (Uzoechi Emenike)

Unsung Hero sponsored by Musicians Union

Myles Clarke

Grace Capaldi

Brendon Harding

Studio of the Year sponsored by Neumann


Real World


AIR Studios

Original Score Recording of the Year

Barbie (Score from the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio (Soundtrack From The Netflix Film)

Glass Onion: A Knives Out Mystery (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Album of the Year sponsored by Mix with The Masters

boygenius: the record

Ezra Collective: Where I’m Meant To Be

Olivia Dean: Messy

Dolby Atmos Mixer of The Year sponsored by Dolby

Mike Hillier

Kirsty Whalley

David Wrench

Gifted Awards:

The MPG Inspiration Award sponsored by Audio Note

The MPG Icon Award sponsored by SSL

The MPG Special Recognition Award sponsored by Abbey Road

“The MPG Awards celebrate excellence in music production and nothing else,” said Matt Taylor, executive director of the MPG.

“It’s what has made them the most esteemed awards in music production. Therefore, it comes no surprise to share that for the first-time women represent over 50% of the shortlist. Not because they are women, but because these producers and engineers are doing amazing work and voted for by their peers. It’s indicative of the positive change the MPG has been showing the industry. The MPG Awards are known for reflecting the industry back on itself, and this year we can see the change is being secured.”

The remaining two gifted awards, PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music, and the MPG Inspiration Award will be announced in the coming weeks.

Apple Music presenter, Nada will be hosting, with Apogee sponsoring the reception drinks for the event.

The awards will take place on the 25th April at new venue, The Troxy, London E1 0HX. Tickets are on-sale now.