Music News

Nominees Announced For Jazz FM Awards 2022

Jazz FM have announced the nominees for the Jazz FM Awards 2022 with PPL and PRS for Music, which will recognise the best new talent, contemporary icons and established stars from across the jazz, soul and blues spectrum.

This year’s nominees include the multi-Grammy-winning pianist, composer and producer Robert Glasper, vocalists Mavis Staples and Levon Helm, drummer and co-founder of the RootsQuestlove (nominated for his internationally acclaimed film Summer Of Soul), New Orleans’ Trombone Shorty, US singer Lady Blackbird, and UK soul veteran Omar.

The recipients of this year’s special awards will be announced in due course.

Nominees List:

Breakthrough act of the year

Chelsea Carmichael

Jasmin Myra

Mica Millar

International jazz act of the year

Lady Blackbird

Theo Croker

Trombone Shorty

Soul act of the year sponsored by Boisdale of Canary Wharf

Alex Isley

Cleo Sol

Mica Millar

Blues act of the year sponsored by Imagine Cruising

Christone ‘Kingfish’ Ingram

Joanne Taylor Shaw

Mavis Staples and Levon Helm

Vocalist of the year sponsored by Hampstead Jazz Club and Lateralize Records

Brigitte Beraha

Georgia Cecile


Instrumentalist of the year

Emma Rawicz

Fergus McCreadie

Mark Kavuma

The digital award


Summer of Soul

We Out Here

Innovation award sponsored by Mishcon de Reya

Blue Lab Beats

Café OTO

Jazz Is Dead

Public vote

UK jazz act of the year

Blue Lab Beats


Georgia Cecile

Public vote

Album of the year

Cleo Sol – Mother

Blue Lab Beats – Motherland

Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow

Fergus McCreadie – Forest Floor

Kurt Elling – SuperBlue

Robert Glasper – Black Radio III

Gifted award categories

Gold award


Impact award


Lifetime achievement award


Public voting is open now at and via Alexa and will close on Monday September 26 at 6pm.

Since launching in 2013, the Jazz FM Awards with PPL and PRS for Music has honoured some of the greats of the genre including the likes of Tony Bennett, Herbie Hancock, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter, Norah Jones, Dame Cleo Laine, George Benson, Pat Metheny, Georgie Fame and Ahmad Jamal.

The Jazz FM Awards 2022 is made possible with the support of PPL and PRS for Music, Mishcon De Reya, Imagine Cruising, Boisdale of Canary Wharf, Hampstead Jazz Club, Lateralize, Savile Row Gin, Shoreditch Town Hall and Lotus.

“I’d like to say a huge congratulations to all of the artists nominated for awards this year,” said Nick Pitts, content director, Jazz FM.

“The scene both in the UK and abroad continues to thrive, and competition for nominations is as fierce as ever so all of those we’ve included on the list are special talents who continue to push the boundaries and create incredible music.”

“We are proud to once again be co-headline sponsors for the Jazz FM Awards alongside PRS for Music,” added Peter Leathem, chief executive Officer, PPL.

“Each year the Awards showcase the great depth of talent that the jazz genre has in the UK, celebrating not just established artists but also showcasing those whose careers are just beginning.

“It also recognises the important work of Jazz FM in providing a platform for these artists and for supporting their work. Congratulations to all those shortlisted and we look forward to celebrating their work in October.”

Andrea Czapary Martin, CEO, PRS for Music had this to say: “PRS for Music is proud to be the co-headline sponsor of the Jazz FM Awards, alongside PPL. It's incredible to see the exceptional, daring and distinctive music being created by the UK's finest Jazz, Soul and Blues songwriters and musicians. Congratulations to this year's nominees, we look forward to celebrating with you!”