Music News

MPG Awards reveal studios ineligible to win in 2024 and icon award recipient

The MPG has announced its plans for the MPG Awards 2024, revealing the categories, the icon award recipient and the studios deemed ineligible to win.

In a change to the criteria, this year for Studio of The Year, any studio that has won in the last three years will be deemed ineligible.

Ineligible studios for 2024 comprise 2023 winner, RAK Studios, 2022 winner, Abbey Road Studios and 2021 winner, Parr Street Studios.

The first of the gifted awards is five times Grammy Award winner, Alan Moulder, who will receive the prestigious MPG Icon Award, sponsored by SSL for his work with the likes of Depeche Mode, U2, My Bloody Valentine, Nine Inch Nails and The Smashing Pumpkins.

“It is such a great honour to be recognised for my contribution to our industry over the last 40 years,” says Moulder. “This award is not just a celebration of my work but a testament to the transformative power of collaboration. Thank you to the Music Producers Guild, for this recognition and I look forward to the Awards evening at the Troxy on the 25th April.”

Ross Gilbert, SSL adds: “Solid State Logic extends congratulations to Alan Moulder for winning the MPG 'Icons' award. This recognition stands as a testament to his achievements as a producer and engineer, helping to create some of rock's most iconic records.”

This year’s awards' eligibility period is for releases from October 1 2022 to September 30 2023.

Submissions are the first stage in the MPG’s thorough Awards process. Once names are submitted and checked as eligible against each Award criterion, MPG Full Members vote to create a shortlist, which will be presented to the judging panel and announced to the press and public in March. Winners will be announced at the ceremony.

The MPG reports that nominations have doubled from last year, with 650 individual entrees. A combination of a new streamlined voting system and extensive social media campaign has helped with the rise and combined with the new increased capacity venue is a sign of things to come.

The MPG 2024 Awards categories are as follows:

Producer of the Year sponsored by Flare Audio

Writer-Producer of the Year sponsored by Novation

Breakthrough Producer of the Year

Self-Producing Artist sponsored by Focusrite Scarlett

Recording Engineer of the Year sponsored by AMS Neve

Rising Star (Breakthrough) sponsored by PACE Anti-Piracy, Inc

Mix Engineer of the Year

Mastering Engineer of the Year

Vocal Producer of the Year

Unsung Hero sponsored by Musicians Union

Studio of the Year sponsored by Neumann

Original Score Recording of the Year

Album of the Year

Dolby Atmos Mixer of The Year sponsored by Dolby

Gifted Awards:

The MPG Inspiration Award sponsored by Audio Note

The MPG Icon Award sponsored by Solid State Logic

The MPG Special Recognition Award

PPL Presents The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music

In its 16th year, the awards celebrate the best of UK Music Production talent working behind the scenes in the British music industry. This year sees the MPG partnering with Mix With The Masters.

“We are proud to announce an exciting new partnership with the Music Producers Guild Awards,” says Victor Levy-Lasne, co-founder, Mix With Masters. “Through this collaboration, Mix With The Masters aims to continue shining a light on the creatives that are driving our music culture forward. We look forward to the awards ceremony in April, where we will celebrate all of the remarkable talent and achievements of the British industry."

Dolby will be the headline sponsor again with others confirmed including, PPL (PPL Present The MPG Award For Outstanding Contribution To UK Music) Flare Audio (Producer Of The Year), Audio Note (Inspiration Award), AMS Neve (Recording Engineer of the Year) and PACE (Rising Star, breakthrough).

Jane Gillard, Head of Music Partnerships, Europe for Dolby says: "We are thrilled to continue our partnership with the Music Producers Guild Awards for the third consecutive year. Dolby is deeply committed to championing excellence and innovation in music, and the MPG Awards provide an exceptional platform to celebrate the remarkable achievements of the industry. Here's to another year of honouring excellence and pushing the limits in music production."

“After an amazing sell out show last year, we’re excited to present what is going to be our biggest and best yet,” says MPG executive director, Matt Taylor. “It’s clear that the MPG Awards is now firmly one of the premier events of the awards calendar. Ours is the only ceremony in the UK which celebrates the best and brightest in all areas of music production. So, with a growing venue, audience, and now partnerships, this year’s event will establish the MPG Award’s identity as the premier event for music production. We look forward to seeing you all at The Troxy in April 2024.”

Previous MPG award winners include Paul Epworth (Adele), Nile Rodgers, FKA Twigs, Marta Salogni (Björk, Animal Collective, Anna Meredith and Bon Iver), Fraser T Smith, Kid Harpoon, Francine Perry, Matt Taylor, Dr Susan Rodgers (Prince) and Joan Armatrading.

The ceremony will take place at The Troxy on April 25 2024 with the pre-drink reception sponsored by Apogee. Early Bird Tickets are on sale now at non member and member rates.

Check out who won at last year's MPG Awards.